Day in the life of a Chef- on a Diet 

You may be curious as to how does a chef go on a diet? I’m surrounded by food cooking all day if I’m working and if  I’m at home with my two little girls, I am surrounded by food cooking all day.

In the Rev 32 program we learn about metabolism and following the metabolic code. I feel like I have added more into my diet then I have taken away and honestly I am quite full. What happens in the body is you never get hungry if you do get hungry your body starts storing food which can become fat.

We have heard it before and it is true, to change your metabolism eat less more often. Stay a way from sugars and carbs and enjoy lots of vegetables, fruit and protein. Which leaves me a whole lot of the food pyramid to work with to make delicious and full flavored food.


My breakfast around seven in the morning usually consist of eggs from my chickens (yes I have chickens, it’s super easy and the best eggs you’ll ever have) and kale with another vegetable sauteed with some extra-virgin olive oil salt-and-pepper. Sauté on high heat for 1 to 2 minutes and then covered with low heat for about five minutes so the eggs are cooked with a little creamy texture.

After dropping off my toddler at preschool I head to the Renaissance Club Sport gym and drop off my one-year-old at the kids club and go in for my Rev 32 session at about 9:30 which is an hour long.

Before I leave the house I make a protein smoothie with fruit, cinnamon, soy milk and protein powder that I drink after my workout. It’s crazy how full I am from the smoothie.

img_8072
At around 12:30 if I’m short on time for lunch I make a salad with flavorful pantry staples, dried fruit, nuts, canned artichokes, sun-dried tomatoes or canned hearts of palm. These are all great ingredients to have on hand, they don’t go bad that can be thrown into any salad to make it more flavorful. I add a little leftover protein from the night before with this salad I did roasted peppers, pistachios, hearts of palm and some lean steak from the night before with a drizzle of Peach White Balsamic from We Olive that is 10 calories per tablespoon and sprinkle of salt and pepper.


If I have a little more time I’ll do a salmon tray bake. Preheat oven to 400° throw in some of my favorite vegetables for this meal I did leeks and delicata squash with salmon, sage and garlic little drizzle of olive oil, salt and pepper roast for 15 to 20 minutes. Can be assembled the day before and roasted right before you’re ready to eat, also a great meal for lunch or dinner.

I eat an afternoon snack with some protein around 3:30 hummus and veggies, turkey with some Apple slices something that my kids will snack on too, if I miss this snack I usually eat way too much dinner.

Dinner is usually a modification for my husband and my kids and something for myself. I love that I’m doing this program during winter because I make the best soups and stews that are all vegetable and stock-based.

I love this Thai green curry soup with chicken, butternut squash, zucchini sprinkled with a little cilantro. My family eats it with jasmine rice I skip the rice and just eat as a soup. I sauté the chicken and the vegetables little olive oil I cover it with stock and add 1 tablespoon of prepared green Thai curry sauce 3 tablespoons of coconut milk and 1 tablespoon of soy sauce. Simmer on low uncovered for 15 minutes taste for seasoning and enjoy.

 

img_8385

Leave a Reply

